Intermediate Pilates Mat


This class is taught by:

Janis Stillings

Janis’ background in dance and theatre, both as a performer and teacher, instilled in her a love of movement as a way of life. As a dancer, Janis recognized the benefits of Pilates for strengthening her muscles in a movement-based, effective way. She is certified to teach Polestar Reformer and Comprehensive Mat through the Kane School of Core Integration with Kelly Kane. When faced with low bone density and the rising fear of moving, Janis’ search for new ways to adapt the classic Pilates exercises to her condition led her to Rebekah Rotstein and Pilates for Buff Bones®. Janis was one of the first to become a licensed Pilates for Buff Bones® instructor. She has a strong desire to help others with similar issues find their way to a meaningful movement experience. In addition to regular continuing education, Janis makes it a point to get back to NYC as often as possible to continue to learn from the innovative faculty at the Kane School. Courses like Pre/Post Natal Pregnancy Pilates with Deb Goodman equip Janis to continue expanding her practice. Janis’ clients come from all walks of life and fitness levels and she uses training and experience to encourage, explain and challenge them. Janis is also a certified Postpartum Doula PCD(DONA).

Meghna Shah

Meghna Shah is certified to teach Pilates Mat I & II classes through Balanced Body. She joined a Pilates studio after the birth of her son in 2008 and was hooked after her first class. Not only did Pilates help Meghna regain her core muscles after delivery, it also provided her with an opportunity to practice mindfulness and focus on the mind/body connection. She hopes to pass on her love for Pilates to her clients.
Int/Adv clients are welcome.  Mat Practiced correctly, the 20 mat exercises originally created by Joseph Pilates, are a powerful conditioning program for the entire body. This session incorporates the Pilates principles: concentration, breathing, alignment, coordination, centering, and balance.

Upcoming classes:

  • Sat May 27 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Janis Stillings
  • Sat Jun 03 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Janis Stillings
  • Mon Jun 05 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Meghna Shah
  • Sat Jun 10 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Brittani Dunlap
  • Mon Jun 12 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Meghna Shah
  • Sat Jun 17 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Brittani Dunlap
  • Mon Jun 19 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Meghna Shah
  • Sat Jun 24 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Brittani Dunlap
  • Mon Jun 26 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Meghna Shah
  • Sat Jul 01 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Brittani Dunlap
  • Mon Jul 03 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Meghna Shah
  • Sat Jul 08 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Brittani Dunlap
  • Mon Jul 10 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Meghna Shah
  • Sat Jul 15 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Brittani Dunlap
  • Mon Jul 17 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Meghna Shah
  • Sat Jul 22 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Brittani Dunlap
  • Mon Jul 24 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Meghna Shah
  • Sat Jul 29 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Brittani Dunlap
  • Mon Jul 31 9:30 am - 10:30 am with Meghna Shah